AIA National Board Approves Change

in: AIACC / 0 Comments
Share this article:

The AIA National Board voted to change the rules of the Gold Medal to allow a submittal of two individuals where through their collaboration they have created a singular body of distinguished work. While this doesn’t retroactively honor Denise Scott Brown for the Pritzker Architecture Prize which was awarded in 1991 to her husband, Robert Venturi, it does change the format from here forward, allowing for collaborators to receive proper recognition. This change will be effective in the next award cycle, effective January 1, 2014.

This is big news not only for women in architecture but for the profession at large.

Click here to read AIA National’s statement.


Shannon Calder

Shannon Calder, a Sacramento-based writer, joined the AIACC in 2013. She is the author of, “Jack and Abigail Make a Compass,” a novel about people, birds, and orchids. She spends her days both on and off hours, looking for connection, which is a good hobby to have when linking the value of design to public perception.

More Posts

Share this article:


Leave a Reply

Join the discussion!