Women in Architecture: Sign Now!

in: AIACC / 1 Comment
Share this article:

As you may know, the Monterey Design Conference is fast approaching.
As you may also know, the event takes place at the Asilomar—a facility designed by prestigious architect Julia Morgan—an architect who worked on over 700 projects in her lifetime—but was not recognized for her contribution to society.

AIA Regional Director, Julia Donoho, is on a mission to change the recognition of women in architecture—like Julia Morgan and others. Read on to learn about why this petition is important and how to sign.

Women are not minorities in America. Since 1871, 142 years ago, women have been getting educated and working in the profession of architecture making significant contributions that have influenced the theory and practice of architecture, yet their work has not been celebrated, promoted, nor rewarded properly. The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has awarded the Gold Medal, the highest honor of the Institute, 69 times, always to a male architect. This is unacceptable. The AIA should immediately start recognizing and promoting the work of women architects. Female architects have made incredible contributions to the profession, over 1,000 joined the AIA before 1980, and many more in the 33 years since, yet the AIA has continued to award the Gold Medal only to male architects. A short list of American women architects deserving of greater recognition includes Louise Bethune, Marion Mahony Griffin, Natalie DeBlois, Marion Manley, Lutah Maria Riggs, Eleanor Raymond, Lois Howe, Mary Colter, Denise Scott Brown, and Julia Morgan. These women, and many more have changed how we see the world, and their work deserves the same kind of recognition as their peers. They all deserve to be recognized, not for their gender, but for the quality of their work. It is time to award the Gold Medal to some female Architects.

ACTION #1: Please help me express the urgency of this matter by signing this petition.

ACTION #2: Please promote the nomination of exceptional women, who are working in the field of architecture, for the AIA Gold Medal. My personal goal is to have women nominees in the short list of finalists every year for the next ten years.

Click here to learn more and to sign.


Julia Donoho, AIA, Esq

Architectural Advocate and 2013-15 AIA National Board of Directors - Representing California.

More Posts

Share this article:

  1. avatar
    Felipe Ricketts

    I think it is entirely appropriate and long overdue for Julia Morgan to receive the AIA Gold Medal. As a student at UC Berkeley I became familiar with some of her work and had great admiration for what she accomplished. Thanks for bringing this situation to our collective attention!

1 Response to Women in Architecture: Sign Now!


Leave a Reply

Join the discussion!