Awards Programs

Design Awards Program

Since 1982, The American Institute of architects, California Council has celebrated outstanding architecture through the AIACC Design Awards Program. Held each Spring, the Design Awards program recognizes achievements in Architecture, Interior Architecture, Urban Design, Small Projects as well as the 25-Year Award and Maybeck Award.  The awards are juried by a distinguished group of architects and members of the architectural profession. The 2015 program is underway and recipients will be recognized September 24, 2015 at the Awards Celebration at CCA.

Residential Awards
The Residential Design Awards program recognizes and celebrates outstanding achievements in residential architecture and design from Californian firms and architects.

Urban Design Awards
The Urban Design Awards program recognizes achievements in urban design, planning, and development and are held in conjunction with the Design Awards Program.

Council Awards Program
The AIACC Council Awards are the highest achievement awards bestowed on a group or individual. The Council Awards include the Firm Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, and the Distinguished Practice Award. The Council Awards are reviewed by the Achievement Awards Committee, and finalists are recommended to the AIACC Board of Directors for the final selection. Call for Nominations will be open November 1, 2015. Registration is due January 9, with entries due January 24, 2015.

Achievement Awards

Norma Sklarek Award
This award, in honor of the late Norma Sklarek, FAIA, whose name is associated with a litany of firsts including the first African-American woman to become a member of the AIA (1959) and the first African-American woman to become a Fellow of the AIA (1980), “is conferred by the AIA California Council Board of Directors on an architect or architecturally oriented organization in recognition of their social responsibility”. The type of social issue is purposefully flexible to remain eternally relevant. Current issues include, for example, housing the homeless/affordable housing, increased participation by minorities or women in the profession, access for persons with disabilities, and literacy.

Academy for Emerging Professional (AEP) Awards
The AIACC AEP awards recognize those individuals and organizations that have demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to Emerging Professionals, the AIA, and the architectural profession.