2013 Design Awards

Thank you for entering into the 2013 Design Awards program! The Design Awards jury met on July 15 and selected 30 recipients. The Urban Design jury met on August 2 and selected 3 recipients. If you also entered your project into the sustainability category, the jury meets on August 12th. All winners will be notified by August 13.

Thank you again for participating in the Awards Program.

2013 Design Awards Jury

Gabrielle Bullock, AIA – Perkins + Will
Merrill Elam, AIA – Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects
Vivian Lee, AIA – Edmonds + Lee Architects
Jenna McKnight – Architizer
Ronnette Riley, FAIA – Ronnette Riley Architect

For more information on this year’s jury members click here


Projects must be completed after January 1, 2005 and must have a registered Architect of Record.

  • Awards for Architecture
  • Awards for Interior Architecture
  • Awards for Small Projects
  • The Maybeck Award
  • Awards for Urban Design
  • The 25-Year Award

For more detailed information on the award categories, download the Submittal Guidelines

New this Year

25-Year Award – An entry packet is no longer required for the 25-Year Award!

The 25-Year Award is intended to recognize distinguished California buildings of enduring significance which has retained its central form and character, with the architectural integrity of the project intact. All entries must be located in California and completed 25 to 50 years ago, after January 1, 1963 and before January 1, 1988.

Simply nominate a project HERE.

The 2013 Design Awards Jury will review all nominees.

Sustainable Design Strategies
Recognizing that good design includes strategies to enhance building performance, the AIACC is offering a new category for consideration in this year’s Awards program.

Our goal in recognizing projects which have demonstrated that design includes performance is to bring awareness to both the public and the membership of design approaches that contribute to a more sustainable planet. By acknowledging our ethics of responsible stewardship for the environment in this context, we hope to promote our profession’s continual efforts for holistic approaches to create healthy and aesthetically pleasing environments through our daily design decisions.

All projects entered in the AIACC Awards Program are eligible for consideration in this category. This category will be evaluated by a separate jury, familiar with sustainability concepts.

To enter, download and complete the Optional Sustainability Worksheet to provide the following information:

  • Summary of overall sustainability strategy
  • Energy Efficiency Beyond Code and Renewable Energy
  • Efficient Water Use
  • Reduction of Material Use

Questions concerning the eligibility of particular projects can be directed to the Awards Committee at awards@aiacc.org.